Why blog?

Well, since I’ve just spent the past hour picking a theme and writing the “About” section and my brand-new baby boy has decided to wake up from his mid-morning nap, I’m going to go ahead and insert the “About” section right here, because I’m pretty sure it answers the question, Why Blog?:

My name is Caitlin Findlay (formerly Caitlin Jacobson) and I am married to a strong, smart, handsome geek/soldier named Brian and we are currently stationed at Fort Bragg in Fayetteville, NC where we are raising our first child, Mr. Case Findlay (as I’m writing this, he’s propped on my shoulder). We also have a very opinionated, sometimes very intelligent (other times, not so…) Jack Russell named Bruno.

I moved down to Fayetteville in Novemeber 2007 to figure out if I wanted to marry the handsome geek/soldier that I’d fallen so deeply in love with and turns out, I did want to (so did he, by the way), so in May of 2008 we tied the knot with a small ceremony at the Fayetteville Botanical Gardens. One month later he deployed to Afghanistan for the second of his three tours there.

I had been telecommuting through my old job as a PR Account Executive at an Advertising/PR Firm (in PA) up until we got married, but just after he left I realized I needed to make a life for us here, in NC, and not continually be traveling up north, so I quit. Well, it’s a good thing we hadn’t planned on a second salary because finding a similar job to the one I’d had in PA in Fayetteville during a recession is like trying to find drinkable tap water in Mexico, i.e. nearly impossible. I researched every firm in a 50 mile radius and sent out countless resumes/letters introducing myself – I even tried offering to work for free and still, no takers. So, to be completely honest, I gave up on the big PR exec dream and in the meantime I tried my hand at substitute teaching, and even as a salesperson at a local Mormon-owned cabinet company (don’t ask, I’ll tell when bigotry induced wounds have healed), but in the end it was better to focus on family and quite honestly myself, while trying to get through my first deployment as a military wife.

Well one deployment came and went and as a second one approached (and still no work to be had here besides some small freelance projects), Brian and I decided that while I had all this free time on my hands, why not have a baby! You may be saying to yourself, that’s not exactly the sentiment couples normally base their family-plannng decisions on, but we’re not really a normal family, so we decided to have a go of it. One month later we were pregnant and six weeks ago we welcomed our first son into the world, Case Jacobson Findlay (I’m going to go ahead and insert his weight and height here because that’s what new parents do: 6 lbs. 10 oz. and 20 1/2 in.). We are still in the new parent fog, I, more than Brian, as his breasts aren’t the ones feeding our son. Even in our fog, we are obsessed with this new little life we’ve brought into the world and all the crazy effects of doing just that!

Before moving to North Carolina, I went to school for Public Communication at American University in Washington DC and then got a job at an Advertising/PR firm in my hometown of Lancaster, PA (I had a few side jobs/internships in between, including managing a DC bar and working as a lowly fashion peon in London – we’ll save those stories for later, too). But, as the time to leave Fayetteville and move back to DC gets closer and closer, I realized that if I want to work again and perhaps even start dreaming that PR exec dream again, I’ve got to start writing again. So here I am, writing again. Not just for me or Brian (I started a pregoblog while he was deployed to keep him in the loop: http://www.brianincaseyouwerewondering.blogspot.com), or even our families (who love to know what “we’re up to” down here in NC), but for everyone here in Fayetteville and elsewhere than can benefit from reading about my experiences as a new mom, a military wife, a newly-turned fitness junkie, and a member of this community.

My friends say that the thing they like most about me is that I’m almost always able to find humor in every situation (even the situations where humor is a little inappropriate), so I plan on bringing a little of that here too.

Be careful, the blog you’re about to enjoy is fresh and spicy.

Tagged , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Why blog?

  1. Jessica says:

    Yay!
    I look forward to reading more, my dear friend 🙂

    PS Congrats on your precious little blessing!!! Don’t think I ever got the chance to properly say that!

    Love ya!
    Jess

  2. Dad says:

    Great writing. Easy to read, and it will come in handy when you get older and have forgotten many of life’s moments. And I can’t wait to see you, Brian and meet our grandson, Case. Sounds funny!
    Love,
    Dad

Leave a Reply

